If you, unlike me, don't have a midterm Monday and want to spend some sunny hours trolling around Rockridge, I recommend you go to Out & About in Rockridge. BARE's own Marcus Leung has put in a lot of effort putting together a massive runway show featuring a lot of Rockridge boutiques and brands and who doesn't like free food and fashion? Information here: www.rockridgeoutandabout.com.
Oh Victoria Beckham, we can always trust you to do something absolutely ridiculous. The shoes from the earlier post lacked a front, and these shoes lack a heel. Maybe if we combine these two innovative concepts together, we find ourselves with...A FUCKING SHOE.
Okay you don't have to sell Obama as a presidential candidate to me. I mean, come on.
That aside, I think his celebrity status has reached an entirely different level of what can only be described as "gnarliness". Buttons, pins, stickers, signs and the t-shirts, I accept you. Even this superfab tote bag, I could get on board with (although being designed by Rag & Bone puts a hefty $75 tag on it).
But Obama SNEAKERS?!?!?
Obama bracelets? At $100 each, half going to Obama's campaign?!?? Sure, but I'd rather buy myself a ticket to DC with $300 rather than wear it on my arm.
Juicy Couture designed "Dude Where's the Hope?" t-shirt or Vera Wang's absurdly ugly "Vote Obama '08" t-shirt, selling for $60 each??
I guess it's cool for celebrities and designers to get on the Obamatrain and I don't mind them lending their support at all. But some of this paraphernalia is just ridiculous. It's not like Obama needs more exposure and this type of stuff just lends itself to critics of Obama's "celebrity status" and "celebrity interests." And really, who are you trying to pitch a $75 tote bag to?? Come on now.
-Fiona
(pictures courtesy of Van Taylor's myspace: www.myspace.com/van20, shop bylu-nyc.com, and store.barackobama.com)
So in traditional blog fashion, I'm supposed to talk about OMGZwhattheywore!! to the Emmy's but let's face it, celebrities generally can't dress themselves and the Emmy's is a watered down fashion event anyways. As per tradition, most dresses were yawnsnoozeborehid with of course some exceptions by generally hot people.
By this, I mean Olivia Wilde and only her.
Everyone else is ugly and sucks. Like Eva Longoria. I hate her. I hate her so much. & it really fucking bothers me when celebrities that generally wear shitty clothes and have no fashion sense at all get to wear MYYYY favorite designers' clothes. Really? Some designers should just not allow their clothes to be worn by people. Like fashion eugenics. Ba-ha-ha-ha.
And yeah, so concludes my favorite Emmy's fashion. I wasn't kidding.
I was gonna make this post relative to Berkeley by attempting to recreate it and giving some pointers or something. But I mean, half of the beauty is in her hair and makeup and FACE, and I'd have to become about 7x hotter and 500 shades paler. Not gonna happen. I think I also need $1000 more in my bank account in the off chance that those booties are YSL (which I'm not sure about because wtf @ the blue lining & soles). Also, if I attempted to wear my hair like that in public people would, you know, not really do anything about it.
Also, please ignore Kamila's waist. It's rather unbelievable and makes me really uncomfortable if i stare at it for too long. By the same token, please ignore Mrs. Parker's unfortunate hair, makeup, shoes and general misdemeanor. Fun fact: we share birthdays :)
dress courtesy of Mr. McQueen c. 2009 - Resort.
-Fiona
photos from style.com & redcarpet-fashionawards.com
I know everyone and their blogging mothers covet these but for the love of all things, ever, can i have them? Can i have them? Can i pleaaa-aaase? CHLOE BE MINE!
No, not the girl, although she's ridiculously cute. Actually the $1200 foot-covers she's trolling around in.
Would anyone in Berkeley ever be caught in $1200 shoes? Nah.